.

City Of South Fulton

I am in agreement with ALL who support South Fulton Becoming a City, The time has come for ALL of us too take control of our furture. The information I  received on Sat. was very helpful to me and I am all for the change..........GOD BLESS.
South Fulton Guy February 10, 2014 at 11:32 PM
Did any of you folks listening to the Pied Piper's Flute to create a new City for Bill Edwards to find a home as the Mayor actually read the feasibility study and find their conditional endorsement or are you going to march off the cliff because IT FEELS GOOD to have OUR own city: "the area has been hit particularly hard by the housing bust, brought on the recession in 2008. Property assessments have decline substantially.” Those changes led to the economists to be cautionary. “When looking at households on public assistance, the city of South Fulton has a higher percentage than Fulton County and a greater share of the city of South Fulton households are below the poverty level,” they said. “This could increase costs to the city of South Fulton since it may have to provide more community development services necessary to assist impoverished households.”
Rodney Littles February 11, 2014 at 07:55 AM
Who are you? Why are you hiding behind an alias. You have a beef with everyone. Your crystal ball is better than mine. Unless there is a Bill passed and signed by the Governor no one will be running for anything. So your attacks on folks for a race that may not happen is not relevant to the issue at hand. The issue is : LOCAL CONTROL BUDGET SURPLUSES NO ANNEXATION 1. People who do not live in S Fulton make decisions on your tax rate and it has been going up 4 of last 5 years. More than doubled since the residents voted no in 2007. 2. We would have $23 million in extra income if we were a City now. Instead we have a $5 million deficit paid for from savings 3. Annexation is worst for us. Just ask those communities that annexed the last time. They want to return. Please be honest like the people in South Fulton United Http://south-Fulton-united.com Visit and get the facts.
James Price February 11, 2014 at 07:57 AM
That is not true, Look at the bigger picture. The information you received is what they """ woulf for us to belive. We will elect and have a say in who we will in as our new city leaders.
Jonathan Clout February 11, 2014 at 09:48 AM
@South Fulton Guy..South Fulton would be running a deficit currently if it weren't for reserve balances. Incorporation allows for LOST dollars as well as additional utilities/franchise fees. Fulton County Government does not have the capacity to provide the services as required per capita for South Fulton residents. Property values are increasing even if modestly. Currently there are less than 2 police officres per 1,000 people which is below national standards. So you want to continue to receive sub-standard services while the Fulton County Government continuosly increases the millage rates; because the budget does not balance. Let be progressive and not myopic.
James Price February 11, 2014 at 11:16 AM
Thanks on the followup,Rodney and Jonathan, you could not have said it better. It is time we stop letting outsiders control us in South Fulton. It is time everyone wakeup. In one of my classes I read, " NOW IS THE TIME FOR ALL GOOD PEOPLE TO COME TOO THE AIDE OF OUR COUNTY'. wE NEED TO DO IT AND VOTE( Y E S ) for City Of South Fulton.
Brion K. Mills February 11, 2014 at 12:41 PM
There certainly appears to be some fear-mongering taking place as it relates to the idea of South Fulton becoming a city. @South Fulton Guy, if you read the report provided by our State Rep LaDawn Blackett Jones, the current millage rate for South Fulton is lower than the cities we may be annexed into--with the exception of Fairburn. Clearly we will have no control over which city we'll be annexed into, presuming we don't get the support needed for incorporation. Therefore, your argument as it relates to property values and poverty levels contrasted with Fulton County are somewhat skewed. More relevantly, the numbers actually show that other cities (ones we may be annexed into) not only have a lower median income, but a high poverty and unemployment levels. Are you suggesting that South Fulton become a part of those cities with higher levels of poverty? Let's put an end to this status quo mindset and take this opportunity to make things better for our community. It's one thing to be proud, but another to be satisfied. There's always room for improvement. However, improvement can only be made when we are in control of the situation.
James Price February 11, 2014 at 05:52 PM
Thanks Brion K. Mills, you said it all. Could you post about our taxes not increasing ?, a lot of folks think that thay will. Thanks again for your input.
James Reese February 12, 2014 at 09:23 AM
It's simple gentlemen there is a contingent among us who have issue with individuals right or wrong. No matter what they are against these individuals and their stance. The cult of personality. Let's not be fooled by elected officials on the state level with their own agendas either. A phantom poll against a city was taken without as much as a whisper who were polled, when, and how was the question stated. It's time we call together the entire unincorporated community to clear the air and put all the cards on the table. We are bright and articulate enough to control our own destiny. As for lower income residents within a city. They will always come under the guidance of the county and state. Cities are not mandated to handle Human Services, that's a county and state function. What we will and should request is a certificate of need for a hospital much like the municipalities in N Fulton, Cobb and Cherokee.
South Fulton Guy February 14, 2014 at 09:33 PM
It is interesting to note that South Fulton United has already selected who they plan to win council positions and the mayor’s position. Reggie Tatum would represent Council District 1, which is Sandtown, Bennie Crane would represent District 3, Harold Reid would represent District 2 and Bill Edwards would be mayor. There is talk that Roger Bruce would assume a paid position perhaps as the manager of public relations or comptroller. The fix is in – wake up people. Don’t go back to the plantation.
South Fulton Guy February 14, 2014 at 10:41 PM
Last December, a Georgia Unfiltered analysis of Fulton County budget documents showed that unincorporated south Fulton paid some of the highest taxes in the county. A comparison between south Fulton taxes and taxes in nearby cities show the south Fulton millage rate (12.469) is higher than millage rates [in parentheses] in Atlanta (10.240), Chattahoochee Hills (10.958), Fairburn (9.98), Palmetto (8.50), and Union City (10.598). The property tax rates in unincorporated south Fulton and the five other cities mentioned above pay for services like police, fire, zoning and planning, parks and recreation, environment and community development, and public works. Between 2008 and 2013, the unincorporated south Fulton property tax rate went from 5.659 to 12.469. Fulton County, in its annual budget book, has said the tax increases were mainly due to lower property values in unincorporated south Fulton and the need to maintain the same level of service as in the previous year. In other words, unincorporated south Fulton County residents are paying 2013 taxes for 2007 levels of service; and a feasibility study released by a group lobbying for south Fulton to become a city appears to confirm that fact. South Fulton United, the pro-city group led by perennial state House candidate Benny Crane, says the city of South Fulton can stand on its own two feet financially. However, a review of the South Fulton United-sponsored study shows spending on police and fire currently lag behind Department of Community Affairs (DCA) averages. Police is the highest expenditure category for the low and high DCA averages with spending from $219-$246 per capita. The SSD currently spends less than the average amount at $174 per capita. For fire, the DCA average is about $170 for both low and high averages; the SSD currently spends $160 per capita. For highways and streets the DCA city average is roughly $80 per capita for both low and high averages. In FY2012, Fulton County spent $50 per capita in the SSD, considerably below the DCA averages. Additionally, the study says, "Residents of the new City of South Fulton may be satisfied with current quality of police and fire service and highway and street maintenance that Fulton County provides for them. However, it seems likely that residents of the new City of South Fulton would choose to spend a similar amount as other Fulton County cities." Bringing police, fire, parks and recreation, and road spending up to DCA averages could easily eat up a projected $17,480,707 surplus.
South Fulton Guy February 15, 2014 at 09:28 AM
Mayor Kasim Reed to Discuss Annexation into Atlanta with South Fulton Residents The Mayor, who formerly represented south Fulton in the state Senate, will meet with area residents to discuss annexation as an alternative to forming the proposed city of South Fulton. The meeting is scheduled for 6:30 PM, Monday, 17 February 2014 at Quality Living Services, 4001 Danforth Rd., SW, Atlanta, Georgia, 30331.
James Reese February 15, 2014 at 06:55 PM
South Fulton total tax bills are lower than Atlanta's. People forget the APS taxes take them over the top. @SFGuy run for office yourself.
James Reese February 15, 2014 at 07:00 PM
Wake up people and read the information for yourself unless you don't understand finances. I've spent the last 20 years doing government budgeting and I can comfortably say South Fulton is more than viable. The problem is we have too many jealous folks throwing dirt that blinds the truth. Be careful what you hear investigate fir yourself.
Gabriel Ware February 16, 2014 at 10:01 AM
I reject the credibility of anyone not man enough to attach his own name to his comments on a community posting board. But "South Fulton Guy" its probably because your comments are FULL of phony hear say, false accusations and outright lies. In your entire rant(s) the only true fact you state is that as a city, South Fulton will have a projected $17,480,707 budget surplus as stated by the official, sanctioned feasibility study completed by Georgia State University. Thanks for that bit of truth "SFG".
Gabriel Ware February 16, 2014 at 10:19 AM
www.south-fulton-united.com Attached is an internet link where you will find credible, factual information to make informed decisions about the future of Unincorporated South Fulton county. We are a non-profit group that is community based and totally open to the public. We encourage any and all concerned citizens of South Fulton County to join our cause which is to educate the public about the viability of creating a city in unincorporated South Fulton county.
Rodney Littles February 16, 2014 at 08:38 PM
Mr. Reese's comments on the budget is much appreciated. The Video Tutorial that you posted in an animation format was just brilliant. Thank you for lending your talent to a great cause for self determination and fiscal responsibility. I was a Way & Means State legislative budget Analyst and I feel what you said. Some folks have personal agendas and are not concerned about our children's future in South Fulton. Again thanks for your help to educate our citizens on the issues in providing them a choice. I cannot understand anyone who would be against giving the voters a choice. Oh , my bad there are those that are trying to diminish our community's ability to cast a vote and to have a voice in their government.
South Fulton Guy February 18, 2014 at 12:11 AM
The legislature needs to put a moratorium on starting all of these cities. It's completely out of control. If Snow Jam didn't teach Atlanta anything, it should have taught them that there's too many chiefs in charge, no one knows what the others are doing, and they're making it impossible for metro Atlanta to come together when it needs to.
South Fulton Guy February 18, 2014 at 01:21 AM
What would a ML King City's credit rating look like coming out of the gate compared to Fulton County's or Atlanta's? What is life like when you have no credit?
South Fulton Guy February 18, 2014 at 01:23 AM
If your house were on fire would you rather call a start up City of South Fulton Fire Department or an established one like Fulton County's or the City of Atlanta?
South Fulton Guy February 18, 2014 at 01:24 AM
If you wanted to sell your house in the next 10 months would you rather the listing say Atlanta (postal or geographic) or South Fulton, GA? Are you ready to settle for less money?
South Fulton Guy February 18, 2014 at 01:28 AM
Wow. These are the people you want to entrust the governance of your home to and they can't manage routine campaign disclosures without fines from the state ethics division??? Fool me once shame on you; fool me twice shame on me... "Leader of South Fulton City-hood Movement Fined Repeatedly by State Ethics Commission": http://www.georgiaunfiltered.com/2014/02/leader-of-south-fulton-cityhood.html
James Reese February 18, 2014 at 07:01 AM
It's clear you are full of disinformation @SFG. You know the same fire department that is currently in place will remain in place. Did you know Atlanta PAYS Fulton's SSD for fire protection along Dansforth and Guilford Forest $250,000 a year. That number will rise with annexations. Credit Ratings - FYI the new N Fulton Cities don't have one because they have a cap on their millage rate. The cap prevents them from raising taxes and that prevents banks from lending them money. Therefore they have no credit.
South Fulton Guy February 19, 2014 at 05:45 PM
The lack of a new City of South Fulton’s credit rating and lack of power to issue bonds is reason alone to vote against the new city. None of the new North Fulton cities can issue bonds and they are hurting because of it.
South Fulton Guy February 21, 2014 at 09:14 AM
James ask a Fulton Fighter if they just changed their badge from Fulton to Sandy Springs. What you said about the fire department remaining in place is factually incorrect. After the transition period, the City of South Fulton would be creating a NEW start up fire department. Whether it chooses to hire the Fulton County employees providing municipal services do not automatically have a job. There is history for this. Yes Atlanta is currently paying Fulton for Fire Services in the annex areas of West Cascade just as a new City of South Fulton would during the two year transition period. Mayor Reed committed to Loch Lomond residents leaning toward annexation into the City of Atlanta that Atlanta will build and staff a Fire Station and that Atlanta has 4 firemen on each truck.
South Fulton Guy February 21, 2014 at 09:22 AM
The feasibility study says, "Residents of the new City of South Fulton may be satisfied with current quality of police and fire service and highway and street maintenance that Fulton County provides for them. However, it seems likely that residents of the new City of South Fulton would choose to spend a similar amount as other Fulton County cities." Bringing police, fire, parks and recreation, and road spending up to DCA averages could easily eat up a projected $17,480,707 surplus.
South Fulton Guy February 21, 2014 at 11:48 AM
It is also important to have perspective on people's positions. For instance James Reese of www.southfultonliving.com lives in Walden Park which is nowhere near an existing municipality and because it is not contiguous to a city, annexation IS NOT an option for him. Hence unlike other communities there are two choices for James NOT three. Since he apparently does not want to remain unincorporated, there is only one geographically based choice - to form a new city. In order for that to work for him he has to convince all of unincorporated Fulton County including those who can join a new city to stay. This explains why he is on a full court press, creating video campaigns and the like because if others choose to bail to a mature existing city, instead of voting for a marginally viable start up city at best, then his new city of South Fulton or King City cannot be formed. People will choose their destiny as they did in 2007 85% to 15% AGAINST and overwhelmingly reject a new city IF it comes to a vote AGAIN..
James Reese February 21, 2014 at 05:06 PM
@SFG I do live Cliftondale not Walden Park. I love the independent nature of Unincorporated South Fulton. I didn't build my home in a city on purpose. You're right my family and I are under the threat of forced annexation vs city hood. No choice vs a choice. I choose CITYHOOD. After reading the Report for myself I undertook several weekends of crunching 2014 SSD Revenue and Expenditures rather than 2012 (20 years of budgeting experience). I found a new city would be in a better place financially. It's simple. Take the 2014 Budgeted Revenues and add the LOST, recovered cost allocation, fund balance and franchise fees. You come up with close to $76 million (more than the $65 million in the Report). You can spend anywhere from $47 million (Report figure, no admin functions) to $67 million (includes an administrative functions and robust Public Works) and you'll come close to having more than $8 million in surplus. You and your colleagues have had more than six years to be annexed by Atlanta or what have you. You chose not to because it failed the first time when people realize APS awaited them (dodged bullet #2). Just admit you guys have ideological differences that will not allow ya'll not to support the team that is leading this effort. I will continue to give out as much truthful information that I can. People need to hear the truth and nothing but the the truth. You know all the cities in S Fulton including Atlanta, sans Chatt Hills TOTAL tax bill is more that the SSD. There are cost related to living in Atlanta that aren't being discussed namely Sanitation costs. Maybe to some of you and double in the cost of sanitation is nothing to others it matters. It's important to know Atlanta pays Fulton County SSD $250,000 for fire protection along the Dansforth corridor. The maturity of a city doesn't mean a thing when it comes to finances. East Point problems have been legendary and Atlanta's are damn near common. Around 2008 the city found out they had an accounting error that nearly rendered it broke. They closed recreation center and sought assistance from the private sector. Funny thing though, Sandtown was working hard to get folks to annex into Atlanta just before this all happened but it failed (dodged bullet #1). At the end of the day a new city is the best alternative. There's no reason the fiscally sound policies can't continue under the same people in the Finance Dept but, under the new city. That goes for the all of the services. Vetting those that will seek office is going to be a priority. Strong fiscal policies will win the day win it comes to making sure our new city STAYS on solid financial footing. Personality Politics be damned.
Rodney Littles February 22, 2014 at 08:43 PM
Well I could not have said it better. Thanks for your interest and passion for the truth. This SFGuy reminds me of the Republicans in Washington. If the truth smacked them in the head they would not know it. The citizens be damned they do not like the POTUS so they say anything and mislead the public. We appreciate your fiscal review. It is spot on!!!
James Reese February 24, 2014 at 05:01 PM
The latest "tell" that is making the rounds is that City of Atlanta residents paying their Solid Waste Bills can write them off on their Federal Income Tax to recoup the cost, that's not true. The Solid Waste Bills are collected separate from the Property Taxes by Fulton County. Even if you escrow your yearly solid waste which can be anywhere from about $400 to over $500 depending upon your property size. If you do you will be committing tax fraud. Be careful of what you are being told. Review Topic 503 http://www.irs.gov/taxtopics/tc503.html
Rodney Littles March 08, 2014 at 08:22 PM
Monday the Senate will take up the bill for a vote. A few amendments have been added based up complying with current law and a tax increase restriction provision. To raise the rate above 1% the Administration would have to put it to a vote of the residents. The vote on the referendum would be moved to this November. We have continued to share the truth with local HOA leaders and gained a lot of support to incorporate our City. Thanks to Senator Donzella James, State Reps. Jones, Mabra and the Prime sponsor Roger Bruce for their support.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »