.

Local Author's Newest Novel, Blackberry Days of Summer, is a Cascade Hit

BLACKBERRY DAYS OF SUMMER, delivers characters that are neither good nor evil but a provocative combination of everything that makes us human.

A new novel, Blackberry Days of Summer by Cascade author Ruth P. Watson has got the community asking for a sequel. Set against the backdrop of post- World War I, BLACKBERRY DAYS OF SUMMER is a compelling look at the Jim Crow era in rural Virginia.   This suspenseful tale of deceit is filled with lust, adultery, and romance.

In the tradition of The Color Purple and The Help, Watson introduces readers to Herman Camm.  As Robert Parker’s body is lowered into the grave, in Jefferson County, Virginia, Herman slithers into the life of the mourning family. Camm is a beady-eyed, small-framed womanizer with nice clothes, who has a complicated life involving three women: his wife, Mae Lou Parker; her daughter, Carrie, and a nightclub singer, Pearl Brown.

All of the women’s lives converge when Herman is found dead from a shotgun wound.  There are many people Herman has offended. And all three women are suspects in his murder.  An investigation is launched.However, it is 1920, and the fate of a black man’s life is never a concern in the Jim Crow South.

BLACKBERRY DAYS OF SUMMER discusses themes, such as:

  • the importance of education in the 1920’s and
    what that meant for the quality of life for an African American in the South,
  • the mistreatment of African Americans in the Jim
    Crow era and the negligence among murder cases with African-American victims,
  • mental health concerns within the  African-American community,
  • and much more!







This post is contributed by a community member. The views expressed in this blog are those of the author and do not necessarily reflect those of Patch Media Corporation. Everyone is welcome to submit a post to Patch. If you'd like to post a blog, go here to get started.

CaMia September 02, 2012 at 06:06 PM
You're missing out if you haven't read this book! The captivating stories of the past, coupled with the intriguing lives of people trying to find their place in a world of constant struggle make this book come to life for any reader! Absolutely wonderful!
Ruth Watson September 09, 2012 at 02:09 PM
Writing a book is a very intense process. Once your novel is offered to the reader, it is even more difficult for a new author to get the word out about it. Most of it is because no budget was allocated by the publisher for publicity. So therefore, it leaves me as an author to create a new career for myself, one I never planned on doing. Now, I am a PR agent for Blackberry Days of Summer, a pretty awesome job since I can experience first hand the outcome of my efforts. I find myself sending off press releases, and making cold calls to people I don't know and who don't know me. A lot of the calls are to the wrong contact at a newspaper, radio, or television station. But of course, the ones you make contact with can be the best outcome of the day. Seeing or hearing the media rave about Blackberry Days of Summer is a big accomplishment. I have finally gotten the attention of an editor, who took a chance on an unknown. Well, several local stations said yes, and a few in other states. Blackberry is making its way to becoming a bestseller on some media's radar. I might even have found a new skill as a literary promoter. Hey, the best lessons are learned. In all do respect for the novel, it doesn't hurt that the reviews have been wonderful. Folk are whispering about the characters, and wondering who shot Camm. This has been a journey of discovery and excitement. Wonder where the efforts will take me and my novel, Blackberry Days of Summer. It is at a store near you.
Ruth Watson November 07, 2012 at 05:19 AM
After four months, Blackberry Days of Summer is still being talked about by its readers. The summer is over, but the Christmas time murder is still fresh on their minds. "Who did it?" they ask. The novel is available in hardcover from Blackexpressions.com
Ruth Watson December 06, 2012 at 07:49 PM
I will be signing "Blackberry Days of Summer" at the Southwest Arts Center/New Hope Rd. on Dec. 8 from 10-2pm. Please stop by and pick up your copy. It is a summer story, and a holiday murder.
Ruth Watson February 05, 2013 at 08:17 PM
Blackberry Days of Summer has finally made it to the Amazon Bestseller List. It is one of the top 100 ebooks purchased. Thank you Patch readers for helping to make this happen.
Ruth Watson February 19, 2013 at 02:56 AM
Ruth P. Watson, author of Blackberry Days of Summer was invited to speak at Randolph College, Lynchburg VA in celebration of African American History Month. A sizeable crowd came out to welcome the author back to her home town. Blackberry is making its way around the country, and with great reviews.
Ruth Watson March 04, 2013 at 07:37 PM
On March 2, 2013, the first ever Frank Yerby Literary Award was awarded to an author of historical fiction. Blackberry Days of Summer by Ruth P. Watson was the 2nd place winner and was awarded a trophy and honorary stipend at the Augusta Library. Gerald Yerby, nephew of Frank Yerby was there to present the winners. This is an honor and notably a prestigious beginning for Blackberry Days of Summer.
Ruth Watson June 13, 2013 at 07:07 PM
I will be speaking at the Black Women's Film Festival this weekend. Stop by Spelman College and enjoy the filmmakers. I will be talking about "Blackberry Days of Summer" which is being optioned for a film. Remember June 14-16 Spelman College and the BWFN.

Boards

More »
Got a question? Something on your mind? Talk to your community, directly.
Note Article
Just a short thought to get the word out quickly about anything in your neighborhood.
Share something with your neighbors.What's on your mind?What's on your mind?Make an announcement, speak your mind, or sell somethingPost something
See more »